Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

PBR texturing practice, looking for advice/critique.

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
SuperFranky polycounter lvl 10
Started practicing PBR texturing, hoping to get some guidance and critique. I'm a beginner to texturing, so I hope to learn a lot. Model was downloaded on a free 3d models website somewhere.

5TwgpXR.jpgEj6un8a.jpgyofcmU9.jpg

Using Metalness approach. Normal is just a flat map and Metalness is just a white color, so I'm not including them here. Trying to keep it all simple for now.

Roughness
I5bIVGw.png

Albedo
MRCmJoN.png

Trying to simulate something like this:
lqvdyJ3.jpg

Any help and tips are appreciated.

Replies

• SuperFranky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    An update on the texture.
    gYySMgi.jpg
    YTuelNA.jpg
    AKerHae.jpg
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    one thing that's really useful to do in marmoset is make a sphere and put it next to your mesh, then make a simulation material for that sphere. this simulation material would have, for example, the same orange colour from your albedo, the same metalness value, and then you move the gloss/roughness slider until you find the roughness level you're happy with, then you paint that value into your gloss map.

it's a really quick way to prototype materials.
  • SuperFranky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    one thing that's really useful to do in marmoset is make a sphere and put it next to your mesh, then make a simulation material for that sphere. this simulation material would have, for example, the same orange colour from your albedo, the same metalness value, and then you move the gloss/roughness slider until you find the roughness level you're happy with, then you paint that value into your gloss map.

Really interesting, thanks for the advice
  • SuperFranky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • stevston89
    Options
    Offline / Send Message