Home Technical Talk

Help with Retopo!

Hello, there!
I, as a total noob at retopo (you could say at the 3d thing at all), decided to give a try in making the topology of the model in the image below.

tasu83.jpg

As you can see, it's kind of a mess xD
Anyway, the red circled part is what's giving me the headache. It has a lot of loops from the most detailed parts (nose and mouth) and I can't find a way to "get rid" of them, as they are probably not going to help me in defining the leg at all.
Am I missing something? Is this the result of bad planning? If so, what should I have done in order to avoid this? Any tips for improving this mesh ? (redoing it all, maybe? D: )

And yes, I have searched everywhere for a good topology tutorial to get started, but I only found tons of human head topology specific stuff :/

Thank you for your time!

Replies

• rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter
    should this be a retopo for the use in zbrush / mudbox or the lowpoly in-game one?

If you want to sculpt on this retopo you should try to build the loops in a way they stay in the areas of high details. Don't carry them around the whole model if possible.

If this is just a lowpoly then merge them down and work with triangles
  • phrit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for your reply!
    I'm actually just doing this for the practice and I plan on rigging and animating it later.
    I've heard that triangles might be bad for animation (deformation and subdiv-wise) and I'm doing my best to avoid them...

Do you believe that the best way to avoid carrying them along the model is using triangles? I can't see no other option so far.
    If that's the way, where should I end those loops then?

Thank you again!
  • rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter