Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio feedback needed

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
AhmedFawaz polycounter lvl 4
Hey all, ive been working as a 3d artist for a couple of years now professionally in arch viz and augmented reality. Unfortunately my hdd crashed recently so ive had to start a whole new portfolio! :thumbdown:

At the moment im making the transition from visualiser to game artist so i would love feedback from anyone here on my portfolio and possible tips for things i need to add so on...

you can view my portfolio here

thanks in advance :) i look forward to hearing from you all

Replies

• LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    Your car renders are nice, but you need to get things into a game engine and looking as nice as possible.
  • AhmedFawaz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you LMP. Yeah i was thinking to take the car scenes into UDK. just hard juggling time creating game assets. Really not sure what studios want to see.
  • Tobbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    Use a darker background PLEASE. Also you should try to push your quality a bit more with your portfolio pieces. I realize your HDD crashed. That's really unfortunate. :( Take advantage of dropbox and backup your work.

Car: I'd honestly not add all of the unnecessary Photoshop effects. It's completely ruining it.

UDK Level: Looks like it took you 30 minutes and you called it done. You're going to have to try a lot harder than that to impress a potential employer. You should also have some screenshots of inside the level. I really don't want to see your blueprint sketch or your BSP blockout.

Barrel: Ease back on the noise. You have some unnecessary edge loops as well. But seriously, I would try for something a bit more complicated and impressive than a barrel for a portfolio piece.