Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

World of Warcraft sword ( from concept )

Nesmos
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Nesmos polycounter lvl 6
Hello guys, I'm still a beginner with 3d modelling in 3ds max and in general so i'm learning by myself and off other people's concepts if i do i always give credit the the original owner of the concept. although i've not used anyone else's concept so far since it feels wrong. I was looking through my blizzard art book and saw a sword that picked my fancy that wasn't in the game so i felt like modeling it.

When i get enough for my graphics tablet, my old one broke i will be able to draw my own concepts and try hand painted texturing.

so heres the concept from blizzard™ of course all the rights to the concept are blizzards.

29a92cd093.jpg

Heres my first progress on the sword ( sorry for the pictures i didn't render them at the time and just wanted to show my work fast )

1.First attempt at the hilt.
0c00cb6a9f.jpg

2.Second attempt at the hilt since the proportions were wrong.
0a3b035425.jpg

3.I modeled the blade in place.
b57e9a9572.jpg

4.Finishing the blade.
fd0e0fff60.jpg

Here's a render of how it looks at the moment
2ff55bf175.jpg

I haven't started on the details on the hilt since i really dont know how to attempt to model them at the moment but i'll try a few things and update here.

If anyone has any critiques or tips or anything just in general will be appreciated :)

Replies

• Baron Flame
    Offline / Send Message
    Baron Flame polycounter lvl 12
    Nesmos wrote: »
    Hello guys, I'm still a beginner with 3d modelling in 3ds max and in general so i'm learning by myself and off other people's concepts if i do i always give credit the the original owner of the concept. although i've not used anyone else's concept so far since it feels wrong. I was looking through my blizzard art book and saw a sword that picked my fancy that wasn't in the game so i felt like modeling it.