Home Technical Talk

Help With Decisions for Rigging: Rather Clarifications (Urgent)

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Azure_Dragon polycounter lvl 6
Hey guys i'm doing a rig and i have completed the bone structure. I am now getting onto the technical bits adding constrains and controllers. But before i started I just wanted to know peoples opinions on

- Reverse Foot
-FK and Ik blends for arms and foot
_ And if its possible to apply both methods on the same rigg

i want to create a reverse foot rig with a fk and ik blend, Would this be a good or pointless thing to do.

Any other suggestions would be great and i am working in 3dsmax

Any help or opinions could be great ill put up pictures soon :)

Replies

• Azure_Dragon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Also just like to add this will be my 1st ever character rigg so i am a total noob at this
  • Denny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Denny polycounter lvl 14
    I use Maya but I believe the same method should be possible with 3dsmax. Create three separate chains for your setup. (names are just for illustration)

Deform (Thigh, Shin, Foot, ...) - This deforms your character
    IK (IK_Thigh, IK_Shin, IK_Foot, ...) - Do your reverse foot and IK on this one
    FK (FK_Thigh, FK_Shin, FK_Foot, ...) - Your typical FK chain

Note that the FK and IK chains are DUPLICATES of the Deform chain, this is important. Then do all your rigging on the IK and FK chains. The IK and FK chains then drive the Deform chain. By doing this you'll get clean interpolation with no flipping when you blend between IK and FK. What essentially happens is that you create two states for the deform chain to follow and blend between.

It may be possible that Max has its own way of doing good IK/FK structures. If so, someone more experienced with the program please chime in.
  • Azure_Dragon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message