Home General Discussion

How to learn 3D art / University worth it?

I am 15 years old and will be going off to collage in about 12 months (gifted so i am finishing highschool 3 years early). For the past few years i liked to play with 3D art but now i want to get serious about it and go for it as a career, mainly game art.

I have read really bad things about Game "Collages" and was wonder if they where true. I have no real background in any type of art but am taking collage courses in 2D traditional art now to improve my skills in drawing.

Taking all these things in to account, how should someone with 0 artistic talent and no exp in the field learn 3D art (for games). And is going to any university worth it?

Replies

• redhonour
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    redhonour polycounter lvl 8
    Well, there is a stickied thread in this very forum with a bunch of stuff about that. Lots of advice and resources there: http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=108342

Although I'm currently making environment art for monies, I'm still aspiring to work at my dream studio so I dunno that I'm a guy to hand out advice.

Whatever you decide, just make sure it's right for you and the work is fun, dude. No other way to live imo.
  • rino
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rino polycounter lvl 11
    drawing and taking 3D courses is the fastest way to grow. 0.1% is talent, rest is work. and yes most colleges for 3D are bad, if you are going to college, go for traditional art, BEST option really.

yes, going to university is worth it because of visas later on if you wanna work somewhere else. but if i were you i'd be buying courses and drawing.
  • aajohnny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aajohnny polycounter lvl 13