Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP Portal Basement Concept

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Jimonions polycounter lvl 10
Hey everyone

I am a student currently but I do work on my own time as well. I needed more experience with UDK so I started up on this concept I saw for portal.

I have about 4 years previous experience with modding for the source engine but as of recently I have wanted to step up my game with a more up to date engine simply to create better environments.

I have a lot to learn still so any suggestions or advice is welcome

This is the concept, the artist unknown.

44r2Fjy.jpg

Here's where I've managed to get so far

It was pretty hard to understand exactly what was happening in the concept so I had to work around the perspective and models. I wasn't sure of the ceiling or side walls so I just put in some rocks. Also I'm fairly certain that the ground is a channel of water but I haven't gotten to that point yet.
There are wires and other debris in the foreground which I also have to get to.
In the background of the concept above the tile wall it looks like there's a wall of pipes. I was wondering If I really should try doing this but it may screw around with my main light source.
The scene is also in a green hue But it was hard to find exactly what I wanted so I disabled any colour correction for now.
I am not going for a completely optimized environment so polycount isn't a big issue, ive mostly been using meshlab for highpolys and fixing up a bit and applying a uv unwrap.

Things I am currently unhappy with are:
- The rocks, they don't look quite right but I cant quite put my finger on it, I think I have to make them in much larger chunks.
- The transition between the curb on the left and the ground including the pebbles in it. Its currently using a displacement map with dx11.
- Need to finish foreground details (debris, wires)