Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Daves Female Character Thread...

Dave Jr
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Dave Jr polycounter lvl 9
Hi,

I've been working on this on and off in my spare time and is my first ever female character. Having only done a few simple characters previously whilst at Uni I'm a utter noob at Anatomy and hope to make this piece portfolio worthy. Hopefully you guys can help me learn alot!

I'm trying to obtain a likeness (in the face more then anything else) of Actor "Claire Holt"
and the reason being she seems to be of a realistic womanly shape rather then the typical supermodel look.

http://www.pinterest.com/ashleyboten/claire-holt/

In addition to this I have a interview at a studio shortly so this would be a great plus to display some anatomy knowledge!

Head Moodboard:
6w3h.jpg

LATEST UPDATE:

bfdu.jpg
te7k.jpg
lpto.jpg

Personally, I think the head could still do with alot of work; lips more then anything else; but advice would be appreciated!

Replies

• arcitecht
    Offline / Send Message
    arcitecht polycounter lvl 6
    Re: the head,

You seem to have a pretty decent idea of the general bone shapes in the face and skull proportions, which is great. Looks a lot better than my first attempts.

Eyes- you have the glabella and orbit pretty much there with pretty clean planes, and thats always good. She could do with more fat above the eye, so I'd just take inflate or clay and build it up a little and make it rounder.

Also look into what's called the lacrimal bone, its a little thing on the inside of the eye that helps with defining and placing where medial portion of the eyelids meet. As you can see in the ref, its an area with really sharp planes so reflecting that in your sculpt will help it a lot.

In the brow above the eye sockets, there should be another plane meeting the forehead. Right now it just kind of smooths into it, so check the ref and see how there's a division there.