Home Technical Talk

What can I do to improve? (My 3d models)

Hi, I'm Sindre "Raminul" Gangeskar, I'm 19 years old and I've been modeling for about 1.5 years now.

I'm starting to build up a huge interest in the 3d world, and I figured I'd love to do modeling and texturing as a professional some day, but I don't think I'll be able to get the chance of getting into the industry unless I create a portfolio, which I pretty much want to create anyways.

I've got a few recent renders I've done, that I need some feedback on, what're things I can do to improve? What do you guys think?

Do the models look okay? Do I need to do some drastic changes to my models in order to improve?

I've only been doing this for a year and a half like I said earlier..
So I don't see myself as a good modeler, I don't even think I am worthy of being called an amateur artist even.. I'm simply a ¨wannabe¨ at this time, I guess.

I'd like to be a professional artist some day, this is something I've had good thoughts about and I figured this is something I'm quite passionate about, and it's something I'd like to do as a job if I ever get the chance.

Here are my three recent renders I've done, they've all been rendered with 3Point Shader Pro in 3ds Max 2012.

I appreciate all the feedback you may give me, please do tell me if there's something I should do, if there are any tips / advice you have for me, please do post them.

My very recent Mossberg 590

Mossberg%20590.png

My MP5K, it's a bit old.

mp5k.png

And finally, my Colt.
Colt1911_Raminul.1.png

Replies

• Brygelsmack
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brygelsmack polycounter lvl 11
    http://www.polycount.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=42

But yeah, looks good I suppose. Generally though I would say shaded High polys are pretty pointless, show us some textured low polys if you're striving to be a game artist.
  • CordellC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CordellC polycounter lvl 11
    Echoing the above statement.