Home Dota 2

cakeypigdog's dota wips

Hi guys.
I am a concept artist these days but was a character artist for a few years too. I have decided to dip my toes into Dota a bit.

Earthshaker set: highpoly pass1:

highpolypass1_zps7270b8db.jpg

Highpoly pass 2. Had feedback to simplify everything for a clearer read so it would work better in Dota.

highpolypass2_zps2b98f17e.jpg

feedback welcomed and appreciated!

Replies

• Shock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shock polycounter lvl 5
    the sculpt is looking very good and i rly love the head!
    but the other slots with all those petheads (special the belt, the totem and arm)
    does make conceptionell no sense to me for the earthshaker hero - it does not fit
    and makes him look kinda *overloaded*... its just my view - and the headslot is rly epic! :)

greetings :)
  • heboltz3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heboltz3 polycounter lvl 9
    Really slick sculpt! Your polished edges are really selling the style, and I'm buying. I think at the moment, some of the material definition is getting lost in the consistency of the plates, for example, on the belt. I'm not sure if that is supposed to be bone, leather, or some overlayed material that deforms around the body. A little bit more/less polish in some spots should help out maybe?

Anyways, keep it up, and welcome to the dota party :)
  • cakeypigdog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shock:
    Thanks for the feedback. I designed the set in direct response to the character Lore: I think it makes pretty good sense :D I did um and rrrrr about the heads on the back of the harness and the belt. It might be a bit too much.

Here is the lore for him + my draft description:

Valves description: