Home General Discussion

Next gen Polycount and so on..

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Ryandec polycounter lvl 8
Since next gen is round the corner, I was wondering what the next gen poly-count and texture resolution size is for general assets and also characters and so on, I'm currently a student so I was thinking it is better to start working at next gen poly-count levels, textures and so on..

Replies

• DInusty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DInusty polycounter lvl 17
    From my experience working on Forza 5 polycounts didnt change all that much but textures went a step up. so if u would be a 512 go ahead and make it a 1024 now. I cant speak for characters but id imagine they have a bit of a higher poly budget.

honestly though dont worry about these things tell your working on a game that requires it. enjoy the power to go ballz to the wall crazy in making a asset look as dope as possible. obviously limit yourself in your polycounts but by no means cut polys that affect overall quality. make it look awesome! that's all you should worry about at this point.

Hope that helps
  • spiderDude
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    spiderDude polycounter lvl 8
    It all depends on the game honestly. So it will still be anywhere from 2k to 45k tris(The extremely high count being for main character).

I think on the wiki there is a list of recent games with polycount on characters. I'm sure there is another thread on here that has it listed as well.

Just make good art and keep the polycount reasonable for the goal of the character.
  • Ryandec
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryandec polycounter lvl 8
    Thanks for the post it clears up the thoughts I had on next gen, I was kinda of thinking the polycount would be higher for actual assets but I guess it makes sense that the texture resolution would be higher instead btw your portfolio looks awesome..
  • JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message