Home General Discussion

Mudbox - Zbrush

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Seraphinn polycounter lvl 4
Okay..so ive been using mudbox for about 4 years now...since its what my university had, and recently ive been worrying about getting a job as a 3d artist as most want experience with zbrush. Now heres my problem,

1. Ive been trying to use Zbrush on and off for the last few months...but just cant seem to get the hang of it. I find even basic importing and sculpting of a face more difficult and angering than i think i ever did with mudbox. Is there any tips on how to convert to zbrush? i.e tools, UI help, sculpting tips?
I can't even smooth the friggin model.

2. Would any games company that wants zbrush experience turn me down even though i can use mudbox?

Thanks

Replies

• EmAr
    Offline / Send Message
    EmAr polycounter lvl 18
    You'll eventually get used to it but a book may accelerate the process. I read a book about ZBrush 3 by the same author and it helped me a lot:

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Introducing-ZBrush-4-Eric-Keller/dp/0470527641"]Introducing ZBrush 4: Eric Keller: 9780470527641: Amazon.com: Books[/ame]

I don't know the answer to your 2nd question but it may be the kind of question which is best answered with an "it depends" where it may depend on the company, your portfolio etc.
  • katana
    Offline / Send Message
    katana polycounter lvl 14
    Yep. I read Zbrush Character creation.

Basically though, the secret to Zbrush is to understand how much to manipulate the level 1 or 2 mesh and build slowly up to the detail you'll put in at the higher subdivisions...just like Mudbox.

Also, seriously look at ZRemesher and Dynamesh functions, and you'll be sculpting much quicker.
  • almighty_gir
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    honestly i can't think of a reason to turn you down for being mudbox and not zbrush. as long as you can sculpt competently and confidently, that's all that matters.