Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critque my reel

chilemang
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
chilemang polycounter lvl 9
hey guys i am working on my senior reel, i had a panel review today and was told i need to improve my lighting, here is my reel, some feedback would be much appreciated on how i could improve my lighting, and or presentation

http://vimeo.com/73287259

Replies

• Subtle 1rony
    Offline / Send Message
    Subtle 1rony polycounter lvl 10
    This is more of a personal opinion(I'm a student in the same boat as you), but I'd say leave out the in game camera moves of the first two, as it seems redundant and the lower quality brings down the quality of the whole piece. The subway one at the end seems the least strong to me. Not entirely sure why, but maybe its the low contrast look of it overall. The opening title with the flash and the colors(and maybe the font too) seems all a little cheesy. It looks like it was compressed a bit too much, and the gray pixel background makes it more noticeable to me.

Merely my initial opinions as I simultaneously try to understand the same things. Rock on!
  • KristaW
    Offline / Send Message
    KristaW polycounter lvl 9
    Hey chilemang!

I think you have some pretty sweet stuff happening in here. I can throw in my two sense but I am a student myself so take from it what you like.

First thing I noticed was in your cafe scene, when you switch to wire frame there seems to be competing geometry in the door way. I would fix that because it flashes making it really hard to not notice.
    7uq2.jpg