Home General Discussion

What makes an interesting and appealing character?

valuemeal
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
valuemeal polycounter lvl 6
Just curious what type of character designs are the most appealing to you?

It seems as though many folks are interested in folks who are much to ideal; what is the deal with that? Is it what these people wish they were or what? I am really dying to know.

Replies

• aajohnny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aajohnny polycounter lvl 13
    I'm not a character artist but I enjoy seeing character models. I think characters that appeal to me are the ones with more apparel on them like a armor, a vest, helmet, weapon, etc. The ones that are just standing there are kind of boring.. I also think having a character standing in a mini environment adds on to design to me. Sorry if that wasn't much help :P
  • Brandon.LaFrance
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brandon.LaFrance polycount sponsor
    That's a tough question, valuemeal. For me, I have always looked up to the great sculptors of the past, Michelangelo, Bernini, and Rodin are among my all-time favorites. To at least some degree, the majority of their work seems to be obsessed with beauty and the ideal form.

I think this has rubbed off on me, quite a bit, to the point that its becoming a problem for me. I even did a character for a client recently that was supposed to be ugly, I thought I hit all of the marks in that department. Huge under-bite, check. Huge crooked teeth, check. Disgusted scowl, check. Tiny, pointy nose, check. I submitted progress shots for review, and the client couldn't have been happier with the character, with one exception, "He's too handsome, can you make him uglier?"

I think I'll make this the focus of my next personal project. If a client needs an ugly character, I need to be able to deliver.
  • valuemeal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This isn't what I meant at all fellows.