Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New portfolio piece

RezNik
triangle
Offline / Send Message
RezNik triangle
Its crickets on the job front. Mainly because my portfolio is three years out of date. I've been working on facebook games for the past three years and dont have anything that can really be used for realtime. So I'm working on getting better stuff in there.

Anyway, found a concept by Karanak on cghub that I really liked. The dude does crazy mechanical stuff.

I need some different eyes.
After Im done with normals I was wanting to use DDO before my trial runs out.
There are some shading errors and a few thing that still need to be added but yeah, what do y'all think?

2gf2af7.jpg

Final update...
Vulture_Beauty.jpg

Replies

• Computron
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Computron polycounter lvl 7
    Looks good, maybe post more pictures.

If you are going to use dDo, bake an object space normal map and convert it to unity tangent space with handplane3d to get perfect normals in their previewer.
  • Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    looks cool

well you basically model of a model , his is made in sketchup

your wings look smaller, maybe try taking the exact same perspective instead of nearly the same , also your texturing is nearly nonexistent, just putting flat color dosnt do the job, and letting DDO do all the work clearly dosnt work either. I cant even see anything it would have done.
  • RezNik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RezNik triangle
    @Computron Thanks for the tips.

@Shrike after some digging turns out you're right. I found his process using sketchup, its on a carrier but still the same process. As for the texturing, I've only done normals so far.
  • Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator