Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mushroom tree

This is no where near as awesome as the other stuff here, but it's a start. Any feedback is appreciated, but since I'm really new to 3D (as in, this is my first serious model), I might not be able to follow on suggestion that's too high level... thanks!

I haven't UV'ed it yet, that's another thing to learn right now...

997aec2928e73e68e63b386ea9d0c5ae.jpg

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Are you making a high poly sculpt or a low poly asset?

If low poly, turn off "Smooth Mesh Preview." That isn't going to end up in a game (except for like the new CoD engine).

You making Normal Maps? Specular? Hand-painted Diffuse?
  • Desperad0
    Are you making a high poly sculpt or a low poly asset?

If low poly, turn off "Smooth Mesh Preview." That isn't going to end up in a game (except for like the new CoD engine).

You making Normal Maps? Specular? Hand-painted Diffuse?

Just finished making UV for the base texture(diffuse).

I didn't realize the smooth version won't be used in a game... the un-smoothed version looks ugly with jagged edges...

231f0e18d78ac656b60361dce83b339b.jpg

I want to make a normal map in ZBrush, that's another new thing I need to figure out how to do. The texture is hand-painted. I'm not sure how specular map is supposed to be like...
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    If you're aiming to do a current generation pipeline, this is the high concept understanding of the pipeline:

Sculpt the High Poly > Retopologize the High Poly to Low Poly > UV > Bake out Maps > Finish Texturing.