Home General Discussion

Need Recent Grad Advice

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
darkmanx_429 polycounter lvl 6
I just recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Video Game Art and Design. Afterwards I moved back to the West Coast to the East Coast. I basically couldn't afford it on the West Coast after school. I was on GI Benefits. I was in the Marine Corp Reserve Full time and going to school full time. When I graduated that was the end of my benefits and I realized my family and I couldn't afford to stay in the West Coast much longer with no job after graduation. I had a portfolio show before graduation that went well and impressive work to show but basically ALOT of "employers" were blowing smoke and virtually no video game employers showed up at all. This was verified after I immediately contacted potential leads that I received at the show after graduation. While in school I had a mentorship with a AAA game company and subsequently got hired after that for a short time . It quickly became apparent to me that it was just a revolving door of interns and temp hires to make their deadlines as they were severely needing help. Now I am Florida and I have been putting in applications to game companies with little or no response and even some military contractors working on designing 3D content for their virtual trainers. I have been in Florida for almost 3 months and I put in (logging in their online systems/cover letters, work samples. etc. about 7-12 applications a week. I would prefer a gig in Florida as my family is here and I can't afford to go back to a bigger state or in the city (like New York) I would basically be back in the same situation again making good money but the cost of living and expenses being high. I started applying to neighboring states just now like Atlanta. I don't really have bills, no credit cards, kids, or anything like that. Just the necessaries of living and my wife. (Who works also.)I am also a USMC Veteran with 2 enlis