Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Dojo environment WIP

So I thought I'd take a crack at modelling an interior environment. I'm a complete noob with engines so this will all be very much a learning experience. I'm going to go with UDK to make this as apparently it is an easy beginner engine. I'm basing my environment around a piece of concept art that was suggested for one of the monthly noob challenges.

pQRPyLu.jpg

At the time of writing I have the paintover and block out done(The concept has a weird FOV so the blockout doesn't quite have the same positioning)

KDxhUWq.jpg

tHowMHS.png

CC is welcome and requested, thanks

Replies

• Maxi Keilich
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking good so far, seems like you got the basic proportions right.

I am working on a similar scene at the moment, and I just posted my blockout too^^ Feel free to check it out.

I will definitely keep an eye on this thread ;)
  • RathSkeller
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking good so far, seems like you got the basic proportions right.

I am working on a similar scene at the moment, and I just posted my blockout too^^ Feel free to check it out.

I will definitely keep an eye on this thread ;)

Thanks! I just looked at your scene and the block out is sure a lot more detailed than mine! I'll keep an eye on that thread.

In the meantime, here's a brazier.
    ArfRKtZ.jpg
  • RathSkeller
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Talk about back from the dead.

Sorry for not updating in ages, have had exams. Likewise, I haven't had much time to work on this.

I finished the model for the pillars this afternoon and baked the normals, still need to texture it.

Here is a VERY quick render of the blockout with brazier and pillars in it.

0JTm56X.jpg
  • Ryper
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think you need to fix your proportions before you go any further, look at the concept again and see how it has a nice open feel too it.