Home Technical Talk

Learning 3d modeling question

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Duninn polycounter lvl 7
So I figured I would use youtube for the free tutorials, but I have a question or two. I am debating using blender to learn 3d modeling to (hopefully) publish to TF2 and Dota 2, but I am not sure if that is a decent program for it. I was also contemplating 3d-coat $99 version on steam, but I need to know it is worth the cost.

Basically, should I use 3d-coat or blender to learn 3d modeling and for publishing? Keep in mind I am completely new to this, trying to self teach.

O and if you know of a good tutorial series, I would greatly appreciate the help.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Autodesk offers free software for educational uses, you can download 3ds Max or Maya directly from them after signing up with an email address http://students.autodesk.com/?nd=download_center

3ds Max and Maya are the most popular 3d apps in the games industry, so you would be able to find more tutorials, plug-ins, and resources for those applications. Blender is fine if you need to do commerical work but cannot afford a 3d license, but if you just want to learn, I'd suggest Max or Maya. 3d-coat has some awesome tools, but I wouldn't consider it a complete application like blender, max or maya, and I'd wait to invest money in software until you've learned the basics.
  • Duninn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Duninn polycounter lvl 7
    So basically get the educational version of Maya and learn off of it using tutorials for now, ignore 3d-coat, and when I am ready yo try and publish use blender since I am poor lol?

Downloading the latest version of Maya now off of Autodesk.
  • DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The more familiar you are with a software, the faster you'll be able to do things in it. So if you plan to eventually publish via blender, then jump right in and use it right away :)