Home Technical Talk

Where to begin?

I'm sure this has been asked many times. Perhaps a proper sticky should be in order?

I'm new to 3D Modeling and I don't know where to begin. I'm using Blender and watching their intro series to the program. Where do I go from there? Which tutorials do you recommend?

I'm an absolute beginner to 3D Modeling. Is there a Beginner's Handbook somewhere that tells you what you should do?

I hope I'm not being too 'stupid' by asking these questions. I just really do not know where to begin, other than starting with the Blender videos.

I want to be able to make something like this one day.

Replies

• repete
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    repete polycounter lvl 6
    I started with basic primitives so I could learn and feel comfortable with the software UI first.

After that I learned how to make a real world object, a high poly barrel in my case.
    Then how to make the barrel low poly.

Then the fun part: UV mapping (can be infuriating at first) :poly142:

After I had my low poly uv mapped it was on to high poly to low poly baking. Taking the detail from the high poly barrel and applying it to the low poly barrel with a normal map, I use xnormal for high poly to low poly baking.

Once you are confident with the above you will be surprised how quickly you can create more complex objects and remember it's all just a process with a large learning curve.
  • Pathologist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pathologist polycounter lvl 4
    Ashamed and proud at the same time, for me it all started here:
    http://www.renegadecommunity.com/page.php?link=mod_docs1
    I was a real addict to the C&C games and C&C Renegade got me into 3d modelling, rigging and animating.
    And now, 11 years later, I work at a company for almost 4 years where we do Virtual Reality and Architectural Visualizations.