Home General Discussion

Will 3D retail design help game art career?

bobkornog
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
bobkornog polycounter lvl 6
Hello Polycount! Hopefully a quick question... I currently work in IT and I have an opportunity to take a job designing those kiosks you see in the center of the hallways in malls for wireless carriers etc. My ultimate goal is to break into game art somewhere but this job will use Solidworks and zform. I just have sense that this won't help me in my career because the art I'm creating is so different than games. I've yet to talk numbers with them but I'm anticipating the 3d job to be less money as well.

My question to polycount is will any job in 3d design boost my resume for game art gigs?

Replies

• JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
    I could be wrong, but resume's for entry level positions are largely irrelevant. They might look to see if you know Max/Maya but that's about it. Then the Portfolio is other 99% of it.

I'm not involved in recruitment in any capacity though.
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Yeah, portfolio is like 90% of an entry level position. The other 10% is how well you do in the interviews (phone and in person).

Past experience doesn't count for much in an entry-level spot, except to clear any red flags (like if someone was bouncing around from job to job too often, or anything else that would trip someone's radar as talking against your ability to work in a professional team-based environment.)

I'd say take it though, see if you like working in 3D. It's kind of similar in workflow.
  • bobkornog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks guys I really appreciate your responses. I'm really torn with this... But from what you two said, it sounds like I should really just stay in IT and keep working at my portfolio.