Home Technical Talk

How to ? Directional lightmaps with 3dsMax/Vray

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Noors greentooth
Hey ppl :)

I'm in the process to improve our lighting workflow at work.
Problems :
No one here has really skills on advanced lighting technics.
Also I'm a simple cg artist and technical papers are beyond me.
I'm very sorry if my technical vocabulary is approximate and my post as messy as my brain.

We need to stay "mass appeal" (also web appeal :s) so we can't use top full dynamic lighting with ssao and stuff. So i've looked at Radiosity Normal Mapping aka Directional Lightmaps technic from valve hl2, which looks to be a good compromise for us.

Basically it allows to use normal maps on totaly prelit models, with 3 lightmaps storing the lights incoming from 3 directions.
aka the normal map influences the diffuse of lightmapped models.

As described here

and improved here with self shadowing normal maps

I've found many informations, mainly from researches of Ali Rahimi.
who generates the 3 lightmaps in Maya with Turtle there

Last version of lumonix shaderFX includes a radiosity normal mapping node.

The shader needs a modified normap map called ssbump in order to speed calculations. ssbump can be generated with this

Then the normal can't be used anymore for specular calculations but it's another problem.

I was looking for a way to generates the lightmaps with Vray in Max. Our editor doesn't support lightmaps generation *shrug*
From what i understand, there's 2 way to achieve it :

Screwing mesh normals with a maxscript so they all point in the right direction before each lightmap generation.

Using a NormalBump/vraynormal in the bump channel of the max/vray material, special normal maps based on valve paper. I'm using maps from Viik on this thread