Home Technical Talk

Theoretical LOD system?

ScottJ
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
ScottJ polycounter lvl 13
Hi everyone, I am primarily a 3D artist and texturer with a big interest in technical stuff that relates to art.

some of you may know my dissertation on batching - I found this highly interesting and found out more stuff that was unrelated and thus not needed.

this included the transform bottleneck of transform bound or fill bound and LOD systems

when an object gets too many vertices/polys per screen size (set of pixels) or too few then performance is effected.

something that I have also looked into a lot is LOD systems in the past - with the understanding they work on distance - a quick and simple calculation.

So I have just been talking to a friend about LOD systems and was thinking how it would be great if it also included objects that scaled in real time (so may be big at one point and small at another, yet be the same distance from the camera)

to alleviate the amount of polys in view and also the transform and fill bottleneck I thought of a different system this is especialy true in games that are now using tessellation - with tessellation based on a per object distance.
The only reason LOD works is due to when an object is in the distance it takes up less pixels, making it less noticeable when it does change LOD form - something that scaling also does!

so with all this in mind I thought about a new system that would not be based on distance, rather would be based on screen space% - there is only one aspect that I am not sure about in performance terms - which I hope someone may be able to rule in or out.