Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need to move to the next level

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
DavePhipps polycounter lvl 7
As some of you know I just got back into 2D and 3D art last July. I've had much improvement since then but frankly every drawing I do looks very amateurish.
Critiques, suggestions, advice, and or links to tutorials are appreciated.

Here's where I'm at right now. It's a bit embarrassing to post this stuff, but I need the feedback.

toospartan_by_davephipps-d653yx3.jpg
am_04_by_davephipps-d6453ul.jpg
black_knight_by_davephipps-d63gpbw.jpg

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    I'm not very good at it either, but for the first 2 images; what I think is that you might want to think of the form of the person under the armor too. Where's his shoulders, where're the ribcage , where's the waist line. In which direction is his upper body facing actually. And so on. Then you can draw armors on top of his figure.

For 3rd picture, hmm, study what eyes look like ?
  • sipher3325
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well I would say take some figure drawing classes and maybe even some color theory. If you can't then search youtube for "FDZSCHOOL" and "My Drawing Tutorial". Learn the basics of form and function of the human body and go from there. I would avoid trying to create something out of thin air until you have a firm grasp of the basics because everything will probably be off. Also, don't just watch the videos. Follow along and do exactly what they day either on paper or photoshop. Learn the basics, use reference, and practice practice practice.
  • DavePhipps
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DavePhipps polycounter lvl 7