Home› Technical Talk

Color change effect questions

Disclaimer: I am a total newb, so if something I say doesn't make sense, please let me know and I'll try to explain better.

I want to freelance out some work, but I'm trying to first better understand what I need so I can offer more clear direction to the person I hire.

I have a Maya model with a skeleton rig built in. I'm trying to find someone to port it into a game engine, so that I may write software that allows me to control some basic movement of the model, and also to mimic the color change effect seen in this commercial to a given RGB value:
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6YOlFbT3kM"]Valspar TV Commercial - Jon and Val Find Their Perfect Color - YouTube[/ame]

My questions are as follows:

1) Is it feasible to have that type of color change animation done real time in a game engine? I can't find any examples online to support or disprove this notion.
2) Are there any game engines which are better suited or worse suited for this job?
3) What type of game artists would I need to contact in order to do this job?
4) Any rough guesses of the number of hours needed to complete this?
5) My software that interfaces with the animation will most likely be written in C++ with OpenCV. Are there easy to use interfaces through which my software would be able to control the animation and color change of the part that was created in the game engine?

Thanks in advance everyone.

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    best to do the colour change in shader either lerp between 2 textures, or colour it with vector values and lerp between them.
  • LukeL99
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So with the first method, would you have to have a texture prerendered for each different color?
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You could do it a few different ways.

1. Yes, this is certainly feasible, and not all that difficult.