Options
    Offline / Send Message
    saw the thread title and thought Id see a bunch of this:
    original.jpg
  • adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    I really like the notion behind the term, "AAA indie". To me AAA has always meant a certain level of art quality and feature sets (and not team size, although up until now that's gone along with it). And if "AAA indie" is a thing, I'm down.

Great conversation so far.

Jon/Hazard: I'm there with you. As an artist I'm still excited to be making art and am excited to be doing it with new, more efficient tools. But I just don't find myself excited for it for the same reasons as I was before and thats why the 'romance' of it is gone, for me. Brand spanking new technologies & techniques are now replaced with efficient processes.
  • teaandcigarettes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teaandcigarettes polycounter lvl 12
    ambershee wrote: »
    Project Eternity isn't really a part of the "indie" scene, and inXile's recent stuff isn't really either. Eternity is Obsidian and that's a pretty established studio. InXile are also a fairly well established studio.

Both are independent studios, sure, but then so is Epic Games. The new 'indie scene' isn't really defined by these kinds of players.

I don't really want to argue the definition of what it means to be indie, but I have to disagree here. Both Obsidian and InXile chose to develop these risky projects outside of the traditional publisher-develper model. That alone could make them more 'indie' than the likes of thatgamecompany, whose projects were funded by Sony.

I don't feel that technicalities such as ownership of a studio, or publisher allegiance really defines the indie scene. I feel that indies are more defined by their approach to development, design philosophy and targeting niche audiences, than anything else.

In short; come on, you know what I was trying to say in my previous comment ;)
  • cryrid
    Options