Home General Discussion

Learning a little bit of drawing/painting - Is bamboo wacom ok?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Toskineuro polycounter lvl 4
Hi!

I used to draw a lot when I was a child, and after I owned my first computer I stopped to draw at all. It's been a long time that I want to try digital painting but my drawing skills are not so good anymore and I would like to start to draw right on photoshop. I have tried and it's being hard, my linework looks too bad/dirty and I have to use the eraser to clean it all the time. I'm wondering if it is because I'm a newbie or if it is because of the size of my tablet. I have an old small Bamboo wacom like this one.

Replies

• Mathew O
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mathew O polycounter
    I know some amazing artists that use small tablets, I used to live with the best concept artist I know and he used that exact tablet :)
  • CordellC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CordellC polycounter lvl 11
    A Bamboo will do just fine.
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    Yes. A wacom bamboo is fine.

But. It depends on your personal tastes. I prefer to have a large off-brand tablet instead of a small wacom because it allows me to make smoother broad swoops from the shoulder elbow, rather than working more with the wrist.

You could ask around your local art circles if anyone has a large tablet, and if you could borrow it or come over to try for a day, and quickly figure out what your preferred option is.
  • GrevSev
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GrevSev polycounter lvl 9
    The small size frustrates me after looong usage but i forget all about it once the wrist pain dies down.
  • skylebones
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    skylebones polycounter lvl 10
    I prefer using a small sized tablet. I grew up drawing in notebook sized sketchbooks, and smaller tablets helped me with the way I am comfortable painting/drawing.