Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Character made by newbie

Hello,

I'm newbie in graphics. I'm learning it since a week, untill now I have made 3 objects what isn't alot. Today I made my first character, I know there is nothing to show off but I want to know if it's enough good for a total beginner.

And I know I need to scale and model it a bit more, will update it tomorrow.

2uyhcax.jpg

Replies

• PLing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    To be a good character artist you need to know quite a bit of anatomy. I would start off by comparing your render a full body picture of human. You'll find out that the proportions are off, especially the head size.

It also looks like you used box modeling and then just smoothed the boxes, I would recommend using poly modeling which works by extracting edges, not whole surfaces. I'm sure you can find tutorials from youtube on correct techniques!

It might also be a good idea to consider using a 3d sculpting software such as Mudbox or Zbrush if you're looking to make a lot of characters in the future.
  • dune3001
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    For only one week "experience" this is looking pretty good. I second the previous post, try your hand at Zbrush or something related, it's much easier for organic stuff.
  • Overlord
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I can tell you did this without any reference. Get yourself some reference and look at some character modeling tutorials.

Start here: http://wiki.polycount.com/CategoryCharacter

http://wiki.polycount.com/CategoryReferenceAnatomy
  • Flurrih
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks all for feedback.
    I know the properties are off. I noticed the head is way too big as the upper part of chest should be a little wider.
    And yes I used the box modeling and at the end I smoothed it twice, didn't know about other techniques as everytime I looked on youtube, there was much tutorials about box modelling.