Home General Discussion

Where is the start line? (Drawing)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Deoce polycounter lvl 5
Hello people, I've been working as a 3D artist for 3 years now and i got to the point where i really think i'm lacking that drawing skill to get my models and textures look good and to another level.

Recently i watched the "FZD episode 59 before and after" and he said that you should work on your core fundamentals more then just drawing over and over again.

So my questions are these.

What exactly are core fundamentals?
How/Where should i start?
Can you recommend some tutorials/books/videos that can help me with my future study?

Sorry for my bad english and thanks in forward.

Replies

• Shadownami92
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shadownami92 polycounter lvl 7
    Ctrlpaint.com has lots of good tutorials, and the video library is organized pretty well to fit your needs.

http://ctrlpaint.com/library/

If you're doing characters I would look up information on figure drawing, and possibly try to find a center or community college that holds figure drawing classes/sessions.
  • Deoce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Deoce polycounter lvl 5
    Thanks a lot for the fast respond.

Ctrlpaint looks awesome.

I'm not a character artist, but i'm trying to learn that too. will check it out.

by the way how much time should i spend drawing each day?? not to much to over burn my self and not to little that wont help me... whats the middle ground???
  • Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11