Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-fi Gun

Hi everyone, this is my first post here on polycount.
I was browsing the forum when I came up with a page of interesting weapon designs from Blaisoid and decided to give it a go.
It is my first try at weapons, as I usually have modeled hp cars and vehicles in the past.
I would like to do also a low poly version of this asset since i want to learn lp and baking techniques but never had a real chance before.

This is what I came up with for the hp till now :poly108:

gungg.jpg
gun01.jpg
gun02.jpg
gun03t.jpg
gun04n.jpg

Replies

• Bek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    Your edges are currently too tight - when making a high poly for baking, you make the edges softer than they usually appear to get better results from the baked normal map. See http://wiki.polycount.com/NormalMap#Modeling_The_High-Poly_Mesh for a better explanation.
  • Atramorth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the advice, I'll adjust my edges right away.
  • pappete
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    look awesome!...cant wait for lowpoly !
  • respawnrt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    respawnrt polycounter lvl 8
    You have a lot of 90 angles there, you should have made them slightly sloped so the normal map gets them and a lot more bevel width as well :)
  • Atramorth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Roger that, thx for the tips =)
  • Blaisoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
    The main problem that i see is that flat extruded feel that your model has.
    trigger guard is as thick as the grip and grip itself has really sharp edges and distinguishable sides. because of that it looks uncomfortable to hold and design feels more cheap.
    that horizontal piece with 3 convex stripes also is 100% flat while on concept it's slightly bulky.