Home General Discussion

Apprenticeships/job in London

I was wondering if anyone knew if their were any apprenticeships/jobs at game studios in London at this current time? I seriously need to find a job even if it is temp but I am struggling to find places in London that are hiring.

Replies

• myles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    myles polycounter lvl 14
    Portfolio? Shouldn't even have to ask..
  • KarlWrang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KarlWrang polycounter lvl 6
    Yeah, you really have to have a portfolio!
    I'd recommend you make a list of all the studios in London you'd like and would consider, and then email all of them with your portfolio, r
  • John Crean
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Haven't put one together yet as I am still learning 3D modelling etc. I was more thinking QA jobs as it will give me a starting point in what I hope will be a gaming career.
  • KarlWrang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KarlWrang polycounter lvl 6
    John Crean wrote: »
    Haven't put one together yet as I am still learning 3D modelling etc. I was more thinking QA jobs as it will give me a starting point in what I hope will be a gaming career.
    If that's the case then just I'd just recommend you to keep on looking for and applying for QA positions. Look at what merits you need for QA and try and fill those.

I don't think you'll be able to get any apprenticeship without a portfolio or art foundation to display sadly.

Edit: Gaming career sounds very idealistic! :\
  • imyj
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imyj polycounter lvl 8
    Here are a few places to look in case you haven't heard of them:
    http://www.careerpowerups.com/
    http://www.gamedevmap.com/
    http://www.gamesindustry.biz/jobs
    http://www.develop-online.net/jobs
    http://jobs.edge-online.com/