Home Technical Talk

Unreal or CRYEngine ?

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Elod.H polycounter lvl 11
Hey there,

I was browsing through the forum, but could not find an answer to my question, hence I started this thread.
I am an Environment Artist who has mostly been working on cinematic, film stuff up until now, but recently decided that I want to focus more on games.

That said, I realize I need to test my work out in game engines. I am debating between Unreal and CRY Engine. Haven't been able to make up my mind yet. I`d really appreciate some answers! :)

-Which one would be more beneficial to work in?

-What are the main differences. etc ?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    They're both free, you can try them both.
  • Elod.H
    Offline / Send Message
    Hello Ace-Angel,

Nice avatar :) . Yeah, that would be best to try both of them out, but I was thinking, in terms of testing out your art in a game engine.. if one of them is better suitable for it. Before digging into some hard tutorial hours, I was hoping for some general advice.

I would use either of them to test out if my models, materials, lighting etc. would work in a game environment. I wouldn`t want to have to do coding and more complicated stuff, so whichever one is easier and more suitable for testing out your visual ideas in, would be my choice... so would appreciate some answers on the matter.
  • Ark
    Offline / Send Message
    Ark polycounter lvl 11
    Both are great engines and you can create the same environment in both and they will look great with the effort put in.

I think the biggest difference between the two is that Cryengine is more or less based around everything being real-time, wheras Unreal uses more pre-computed methods to achieve the same thing.

The lighting in Cryengine is all deferred apart from the sunlight with is still forward rendered.