Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Stuck on what to do next: Mesh Optimization

Hi guys,

I have decided I need to set some goals, and focus on creating some finished pieces for my portfolio. So I have been working on the following sculpt. I am still pretty new to character modeling and am working on overcoming the technical challenges of creating game ready characters.

I am currently stuck on what to do next. I have made quite a bit of progress but I don’t know what to do in the areas where the mesh overlaps or is double sided and you really cannot see the faces on the back side. If this character were to go in game there would be quite a bit of overlapping geometry and I’m pretty sure this is not a good thing. I know meshes need to be optimized if they were to go in game but I really don’t know how to go about this. Do I retopo the whole character and subtools into one solid mesh? If so how do I do this? I understand the retopo tools in ZBrush and Topogun but I don’t know how to retopo multiple obejects/subtools and project them onto one single mesh. If someone could please explain the next steps I need to take or send me a link to a tutorial that does. I’d really appreciate it.

I am working on sculpting this concept by Jaime Jones:
bDQMV.jpg
Bush Toad Variant B from Guild Wars: Eyes of the North

This is the schedule I am trying to stick to: It will probably take me longer but as long as I finish this character in a pretty reasonable amount of time I will be happy.
pM6R4.jpg

r42Wu.jpg

I then sent the mesh back to ZBrush and began refining the form and detailing the character.
TCdVg.jpg

This is where I am stuck:
N92r6.jpg

Replies

• neilberard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    neilberard polycounter lvl 17