Home General Discussion

Building a System-Most important specs?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Bearplane polycounter lvl 7
Hey everyone. First off this is my first time posting here so sorry if this is in the wrong place.

Anyways heres my question: I am currently in school to learn 3d modeling and animation. Ive already done a bit of work in maya and have decided its about time i upgraded from a laptop to work on. What specs are most important to a modeler? i want this computer to last me a good while. I plan to use it for gaming as well but i want it to be optimized for modeling and rendering scenes.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Gnutmi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gnutmi polycounter lvl 10
    Hey.
    Im a Beginner jut like you, so dont take my word 100%, but from what ive seen, read, and learned over the past few month is this:

1. CPU: This is probably the most important in max. Im with a Core2Duo and I can barely work once my project gets complex. So id suggest You spend a decent amount on this one.
    Id say a i5 3570K IvyBridge, 3400MHz, 6MB, socket 1155, is a good choice. Good for OC and great bang for the price.

2. RAM. Important, but these arent that expensive. 16Gigs should do it, but 8gigs are probably more then enough for learning. Look for some solid stable ones, the choices are unimited here.

3. Mobo. Id say this should be a below average one. try a Asus P8Z77-V LX, Socket 1155. It works great with the Cpu and is amazing from OC.

4. Vidcard. Here I realy dont know. Ppl say Nvidia is the way to go for modeling [if u dont spend the money on a workstation gpu] but probably and gaming card gan do as long as there the good ones. Try the GTX 560?

Again. Im not an expert, but this would be the thngs id consider first when buying a PC for modeling.

PS. An SSD hard gand do wonders with loading time, but dont let SSD's cut your budget from the others.
  • Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message