Home General Discussion

Job Interview in a hour or so, what questions should I expect?

More details:
- Phone Interview
- Environment Artist job
- I have no other previous experience in the industry
- Is a smaller studio 40ish-employees

Thanks for your help

Replies

• nyx702
    "Describe your process" is a one that I have gotten almost every time.

"What games do you play"

"What is your experience with 'X' software"

"Describe a time when you worked with a team." I got this a few times when I was starting out and didn't have XP.

"Would you rather cut corners and meet the deadline or make it perfect and blow the deadline?"

I answered "make it perfect because cutting corners usually bites you in the ass" and this is a big part of why I didn't get the position. It was for smaller studio that just needs to get stuff out the door even if it's not perfect.
  • low odor
    Offline / Send Message
    low odor polycounter lvl 17
    "Would you rather cut corners and meet the deadline or make it perfect and blow the deadline?"

This is a trick question..the correct answer is make it perfect AND meet the deadline..

but seriously, they don't want to hear that you will blow off a deadline...I'd probably say that I would make it as perfect as possible in the allotted time, and then talk to my lead about why I thought the deadline was tight and could have benefited from more allotted time
  • R3D
    Offline / Send Message
    R3D interpolator
    Do you mind working overtime?

The answer is no, you dont mind.
  • ZacD
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    The main thing is you want to be asking just as many questions as they ask you.
  • nyx702
    Ryswick wrote: »
    Do you mind working overtime?

The answer is no, you dont mind.

Ohhhh yea this is good one.
  • Dan!
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan! polycounter lvl 6