Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Character WIP

Muzza123
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Muzza123 polycounter lvl 7
I've had a go at using Zbrush a few times but I'm classing this as my "first" proper go at it. I'm looking for some feedback and advice for improvements to the models current form.

girlconcept31.jpg
girlconcept32.jpg

I originally want a more punk styling to the character's hair, something like the image below, however I wasn't too sure how to go about it, has anybody got any advice?
DT.jpg

Replies

• jaydon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jaydon polycounter lvl 6
    Hey man, I'm no expert (yet!!) but was at your level a little ways back, all i can say is Anatomy, Anatomy, Anatomy. Use a ton of reference and even start building folders of the stuff. The head really needs some adjusting.
    ggFz2.jpg

It takes a lot of practise :) you will get there
  • Muzza123
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Jaydon, the eye region is where I've been struggling. I'll focus on that before I move on
  • Muzza123
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Followed Jaydons advice and worked on the face a bit more, the result:
    faceimprovement.png
  • dirigible
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dirigible polycounter lvl 8
    It's better, but you aren't done yet. Keep workin at it.
  • Muzza123
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks dirigible.

I've been bogged down with other work so I'm struggling to find time for this character, but I've managed to do some more work on the face recently, here's the results:
    faceimprovement2.png
  • neilberard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    neilberard polycounter lvl 17
    I would honestly recommend putting this character on hold for now and working a bunch of quick sketches. I think the biggest issue is that you don't have a solid concept of the large basic shapes that make up the form. Here's some examples of what I mean.