Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

zBrush environment textures - need help!

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
soo, i think i finally understand the goddamn UI of zbrush enough to be able to make actual assets with it.
here's my first attempt at zbrush texture:

Wall_zrock1_r2.png

i can't say that i'm satisfied.
after baking it turned out that rocks are forming a bold wavy pattern, and from distance it looks unnatural.
is there an easy way to preview tiling in zbrush?

here's wip sculpt (final bake had more details):
Wall_ROCK1_wip1.png

I'd like to go for more jagged forms and blocks that are defined better but it seems hard to pull it off with methods that i'm using.

my workflow was following:
-first i used my own tilable rock alpha to get basic lines
-then i used a soft big size 'move' brush to add some depth (with wrapping)
-then i started playing around with layer brush and clay brush to define rocks
-after that i used (mostly) trimdynamic to hide brush strokes and make bulky rocks more blocky
-then i think i used pinch to make some edges sharper and added some details with basic alpha brushes

Are there any free brushes or alphas that would help with this kind of surfaces? or is it just a matter of getting more experienced at using the basic ones?
my biggest problem is achieving strong forms and sharp edges instead of bulky and muddy surfaces.

any tips are welcome :)

Replies

• sltrOlsson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sltrOlsson polycounter lvl 14
    Looks like you are using wrapMode 1? If you use 2 you'll have a bigger border to bake from.

Main tip from me would be don't be shy leaving big flat surfaces.