Home Technical Talk

Hardsurface artists: The world famous Maya vs 3ds max conflict in a diffrent way...

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
CyberGameArts polycounter lvl 7
Hello everybody!
I am a fairly new artist, about a year or two into CG and I always had this internal conflict between 3ds max and Maya. Back then I decided to start out with Maya just because most of the digital tutors courses where held in Maya aswell and the gnomon courses. Now looking back I think this was a bad idea since I see about 98 % or all hardsurface and weapons/vehicles artist using 3ds max. I saw maybe two or three good Maya guns but the rest that made me make :OOOOOOOO was made in 3ds max mostly. Most of the CSS gamebanana community also uses 3ds max, most notably Racer 445 and Millenia and other people I saw on polycount, like the weapons artist from Mw3 and this guy http://polygoo.com/, and most of all the Gears of war Artists use MAX :(

It just really confuses me. On the other hand people always say to me: "NO no dude, it deosnt matter what program you use"
, but why then is most of the stunning hardsurface stuff made in max.

Right now i am in a little indie dev team, and i am the only one using Maya really. All the artist around me are using Max and make stunning art. I just always look at my art and I think it could be better and the costant bugs in Maya just fusturate me. Now you might say: "Well then just switch lol" Well the thing is that i actually know 3ds max, like the tools and everything, but I am jussstttt sooo slow in it. Everytime i start in Max i go right back to Maya because I dont have the luxury right now to experiment, cause I do have deadlines.