Home Technical Talk

Autodesk Maya ( please don't kill me)

Hey all, i read a lots of discussions about this battle between 3ds max and maya but no one of them answered my question. I understand that both programms can do anything all depends from who use it. I also a read a post of "3d artist " about this argument. In general i understood that 3ds max ( on high levels) is for game modelling while maya is for animation. So my question is , if both of these programms ar good for evrything why there are Schools that use ONLY maya?
Right now i'm studying 3ds max and i can't find a school that use this software. So there is a doubt is maya more requested in all productions?
PS sorry fro my bad english, hope you understand what i ment to ask
Have a nice day
PSS i know also that there are lots of good programms out there , but i'm more interessting on these two

Replies

• Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    apart from the "it's just a tool argument", the thinking of a uni could be like this: maya has a stronger foothold in film. Therefore graduates know software used in games AND film. Maya, for a while used to be cheaper than max. Plus maya uses Python for scripting, if the college teaches that, it's more useful than max script as python can be found in other apps and used for stand-alone app dev. Maya's visual node editors are also a nice learning tool to understand how stuff works under the hood - there's no real equivalent in max for teaching this.
    Other reasons for sticking to Maya only: hiring extra max teachers costs money. Buying extra max licenses costs money.

Funny though, my college taught both, Maya and Max - back when Maya still cost $8000 a seat.

From what's requested more: depends on what fields of 3D you include. Autodesk's numbers for Max subscriptions are much higher than the ones for Maya, but this also include Max licenses used for e.g. product visualization, and not just entertainment alone.
  • Brendan