Home Technical Talk

just a simple collar?

Hey there,

I got a little noobish problem while creating a low-poly(10-20k Polys) jacket simiular to this :br39170700vliv01.jpg

I dont get the collar right, because I have to drag the inside out, I dont know if two-sided material is the right choice, it looks odd and i dont even know if it can be importet into any engine.

Can anyone help me , how to do this the best way?

(i am using 3ds max 2010)

Replies

• Trust_me
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    <Bump> ..anyone?
  • LoTekK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LoTekK polycounter lvl 17
    Some images of your attempts might help.
  • Trust_me
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Im sorry, but there isnt realy anything helpful to show.

I just made a really simple body and copied it to get something to start with, thats how far as i am.

I am very new to modeling and just got far enough to make "ok" looking heads and hands and stuff, but when it comes to clothes i really need some help.
  • Pola
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pola polycounter lvl 6
    If you wanted to have two sided mesh detail, you could alternatively duplicate all the faces you want double sided and flip their normals, not 100% sure if thats a more efficient way then telling the game engine to treat the shader/mesh as double sided or if it causes z fighting(don't think it would since the normals are opposite?).
  • rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter
    double sided would work and modelled out would work too of course (think of the collar as a real, double sided object with a certain thickness).

I would say: try it.. show how it looks and we can help you a lot better.

So far I can only say: try it first.
  • GeeDave
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GeeDave polycounter lvl 11
    Is 10k - 20k tris for a jacket considered low poly these days?