Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Green Monster - Character W.I.P

Hi guys, would love some feedback on a little project I'm working on. I drew this guy the other day, with the intention to rig and animate him. I enjoy modeling, but really struggle with topology. The textures I wanted to experiment with something I've never tried before, but from the forums seems to be a common thing at the moment, Hand painted look. I might try using inks and water colour. My art is no where in the league of you guys, but I enjoy experimenting with 3D.

Concept art: (basic I know)
monster5.png

3D version: (un-smoothed)
monsterwip2.png

Smoothed:
monsterwip.png

Wireframe (Front and back)
screenshot20120726at171.png

For the Green monster I used Zspheres to give him a base mesh, which i find a much quicker method to creating a characters geometry, and making the proportions correct. I then used Maya to start to tackle the topology, which is where i need your help :poly122: :)

Id also like to know what you think of my final animation for university, which was to produce a animation short. This was created in 6 months, and I'm personally not happy with the outcome, as the look i was going for did not work out.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9Z60Msvm3c"]The Cracked Pot - YouTube[/ame]

Cheers guys.

Replies

• nick2730
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Its a good base, keep going with it
  • luch174
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    screenshot20120727at130.png
    screenshot20120727at130.png

Any advice? Im going to add more divisions in the arms, but for the torso and back how does it look?

Cheers guys. Up to 6640 tris which isn't too bad.
  • luch174
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Update:

aldom.png

any suggestions would be really appreciated :)
  • luch174
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Update:

Uvmapped and ready for zBrush

screenshot20120801at152.png

screenshot20120801at152.png
  • luch174
    Options