Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Astronomer's Tower

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
kippernicus polycounter lvl 11
Hello chums. Started this a couple days ago and I'd like to get it ready to throw into UDK (maybe Unity, too) by early next week.

I'm going for a happy medium between what you might see come out of WOW or Guild Wars. Architecturally, I'm leaning towards WOW somewhat with their fantastical and disproportioned style. Texture-wise, more-so towards what you might see on the ArenaNet art test. I'm drawing a lot of inspiration from Christopher Swick's submission.

http://cls3d.blogspot.com/2011/09/arenanet-art-test.html

So yeah, if you guys/gals see any glaring mistakes I'm making; please point em out to me. I'm still relatively new to both of these styles and I'm anticipating a lot of edits.

Replies

• kippernicus
    Offline / Send Message
    Energy drink: opened, wubstep: blaring. :)

Majority of the modeling done. Working on color scheme/material definition/shading.

Capture.PNG
    Capture2.PNG
    Capture3.PNG
  • kippernicus
    Offline / Send Message
    A nap is sounding pretty good right about now. :) Getting somewhere with these textures. Stone's finished, everything else still needs touching up.

I've been trying to think of some cool designs for a contrasting decal running along the stucco texture. Something tribal but still themed to Astrology. I have 4 different panels to use, but I have 2 set aside for an AO bake on the windows and another for some painted-in, decorative wood trim. Same thing for a design on the door and maybe a couple more unique, themed models to help break everything up a bit.

Capture6.PNG
    Capture5.PNG
  • kippernicus
    Offline / Send Message