Home Technical Talk

Requested Sub-object level is out of range

This is my first time posting and I hope that someone can help.

I've recently started to model an Ithaca Model 37 using the tutorial that Millenia created. When I click "Normalize UV Shells" I get the titular error and a window with a good deal of coding pops up.

If I can find out how to post images I can give a screen cap of the code.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Replies

• m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    Even if you can't get a screenshot, at least mention the software you are using ;)
  • Nilihum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    3DS Max 2012 Student Edition.
  • Kurt Russell Fan Club
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kurt Russell Fan Club polycounter lvl 9
    This is like a great treasure hunt :)

You're using this tutorial: [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_1ql8yH2Ow"]Weapon creation tutorial - Part 3 (UV & baking) - YouTube[/ame] and you're using TexTools and you're trying to use the normalize button on that script? What do you have in your current object stack?

The TexTools thread could have some help. (http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=69736) RenderHJS often mentions that you need to have an Edit Poly modifier on the stack. The problem could be that you're using Max 2012, though.

To post images, press print screen, open photoshop or paint and paste, then go to an image hosting site like imgur.com and upload an image then link it in your post.
  • cptSwing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cptSwing polycounter lvl 11
    Some TexTools functions no longer work with newer Max versions (if I remember correctly) - From 2012 onwards though, Max's UV editor has gotten a lot better, including their normalising function..
  • Nilihum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I managed to get a screen shot, I didn't know that I needed an imagehost. Sorry about turning this into an egghunt.

S16AQ.png