Home General Discussion

Getting into game animation... what path to follow?

Hello everybody!
I'm new here and is there a better way than starting "What software should I use" thread to introduce myself?! :poly114:

Actually, this isn't really the beginner's thread as I'm 33 and previously experienced in 3d. What I'm new to is 3D animation for games in particular. I have some experience with 2D/traditional animation.

About a decade ago I was quite active in 3D archviz, modeling and rendering almost exclusively. Using Lightwave and Max (Viz actually, while it was still around). During the last 5-6 years archviz scene kind of disappeared and so did my involvement with professional/freelance 3D.
In the meantime I got into game-development, worked as game designer/producer and got some insight into game dev scene (which I love, mad I know).

Then I became a dad, and my 2yo got heavily into cartoons (might be slightly influenced by her dad). For the past year or so I've been watching Disney, Pixar stuff DAILY - now how awesome is that for "reference material study"!8)
I could probably dance away all Mike Wazowski moves right now if someone is interested. No?

Finally, I came to the conclusion that some kind of synthesis-of-skills is in order and that I shall pursue the hobby of animation for games.My goal is to eventually do freelance work in game character (or prop) rigging and animation.
Stricltly that. No modeling, texturing, just specialized rigging & animation of low/mid-poly assets. Is there a freelance market for that stuff?

I've done some analysis on software I might need. I already got Lightwave, but it's animation and export capabilities are kind of limited. IMHO, Blender is more appealing than LW for animation right now.

Then there is the dynamic duo: Max & Maya.
I did archviz rendering in Max previously (last was ver.6 I believe) and tried Maya at home.