Home Technical Talk

Maya 2013 Copying UVs

tweekedgirl
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
tweekedgirl polycounter lvl 4
Hiya there, I've been using Max for two years but I'm currently trying to teach myself Maya, and I'm having a little trouble getting to grips with unwrapping.

In Max, if you had a model which had two areas that were exactly the same, you could map out one part and literally copy those UVs and then paste the UVs onto the identical area, but I'm really struggling to do this in Maya. I've seen lots of people asking about transferring UVs to an identical model, but can it be done on the same object?

unwrap_help.jpg

I've unwrapped the area highlighted in red, and above is the unwrap. I simply want to copy these to the other side without having to unwrap the same thing again and lay the UVs on top of each other.

Any help is appreciated because I can see myself running back to Max for unwrapping if this can't be done!

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    delete 2nd part, copy geo over, and weld and merge it back in?
  • tweekedgirl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks, that does work, but it seems a very round a bout way of doing something that can be done in two clicks in Max?

If for example I had a much more intricate model, having to go and delete all my geometry and then go and weld each piece back into place would take up a lot of time, and so that wouldn't really be feasible.

Is it possible to achieve what I'm asking in Maya?
  • Pola
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pola polycounter lvl 6