Home Technical Talk

Physique and Skin won't work -- help!

I'm hoping someone here can solve this, or maybe I'll have an epiphany tomorrow. But this problem has me stumped.

I have a character (editable mesh) and a biped skeleton (in figure mode, fitted to the character). When I select the character and put a Physique or Skin modifier on it, I don't see any bone links for me to attach the vertexes to. The biped remains in block form, without the familiar yellow lines that signify bones.

I've been using 3D for ten years, and I've never encountered this problem before. The version I'm using is 3dsmax 9. I've tried restarting. I've tried a new biped skeleton. I've re-imported everything in the scene. I've hunted through the 3dsmax settings. I've looked through the help files and searched online. Got nothing.

Thanks for any help you can give with troubleshooting this problem!

Replies

• SpeCter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SpeCter polycounter lvl 14
    You added the biped bones to your physique/skin modifier right?

If yes , did you enable "edit envelopes" ?
  • Eric Chadwick
  • Abby3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes, did those things. The only thing I can guess at this point is that maybe a maxscript is conflicting with biped. Or there's an obscure setting somewhere that I accidentally unchecked.

I'm going to experiment with just making a sphere and a biped, and seeing if it works for those. I'll also open old files that have physiqued characters, and see if I can see their bone links. If so, I'll just re-merge everything in my scene into one of those old files, and chalk it up to an obscure setting.

If not ... I'll try deleting maxscripts. I can't believe this weird problem!
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not sure what the problem is exactly. The biped low-poly meshes ARE the bones. Those are what you pick when you want to add bones to Skin or Physique.