Home Technical Talk

Punching up level of character detail during design process

badzee28
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
badzee28 polycounter lvl 6
I think at the point I am at, I'm starting to really get a feel for creating decent characters. However, I always find myself struggling during the design process to really punch out unique, interesting concepts. I'm not a horrible artist per se, but I always find myself frustrated because I can never translate the ideas in my mind on paper. I also tend to do a lot of armored/ fantasy characters, and I find it really difficult to find reference outside of reality. I've noticed a lot of the armors in video games tend to be incredibly detailed and stylized; while I can do "realistic" armor fairly easily, sometimes I have a difficult time concepting believable fantasy armor that seems interesting. Heck, even in games where they attempt to make armor that is semi realistic, it tends to be way more interesting to look at than the contemporary stuff. If there's anyone on here that works on a lot of fantasy/mmo stuff, would you mind sharing your design process?

Replies

• Macattackk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Macattackk polycounter lvl 7
    Are you trying to be a character concept artist? If you want to be a 3d character artist, dont waste time making concepts. Get other people's concepts and make them into 3d characters. You shouldn't spend too much time dwindling on things you aren't as good at or are not trying to get a job in.

Practice drawing though.
  • MisterSande
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MisterSande polycounter lvl 8
    I think you will benefit from drawing lessons (classical and 3d techniques) :)
  • Add3r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Add3r polycounter lvl 11