Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Recent graduate portfolio - Environment Artist

Hi everyone!

I am a recent graduate from the Art Institute of California-San Diego, and this is my portfolio thread. I graduated 3 months ago, and this is the body of my work so far. I don't know why I haven't posted more of my work on here before, but here it is:

www.raymondo3d.com

Any feedback is welcomed, and please don't hold back with your critiques! Looking to improve my skills as an environment artist in any way possible!

Replies

• Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    I think you have done well, better than most graduate portfolios I have seen :)
    I think the old phone could use some more polies considering that you used a 1k texture for it, a bit to high I would say.

I also think The Ancestral Tomb and the crash site could use some work on the lighting, seams to lack depth and grounding, like the crash site I think could benefit from being darker and having the glowing "flowers" contribute to the lighting.
  • cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    Replace the "Home Page" with the "Projects" page so al your art is right up front.

Rename "Projects" to "Portfolio"

Be sure all images are clickable links to the full size versions. I noticed all the images are scaled into a format size, but could be dragged into a new window for full size.

I don't understand why he breakdowns of The Ancestral Tomb are a rock and this http://www.raymondo3d.com/images/25c95c82a33a21fc95b1a91a6d8a5431.jpg which don't look that great, while the Hero piece (the boat) is ignored.
  • Jeff Parrott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeff Parrott polycounter lvl 19
    Ditto the changes that cholden suggests with the page renaming.

Also the super light bg is a bit much. Tone back that value some.
  • KartoonHead
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KartoonHead polycounter lvl 4