Home General Discussion

Is it really worth persuing a career in Art/CG?

Hey guys,

I am about to finish high school and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do for a living. I have made a huge hobby out of doing 3D art, digital art, and traditional art and I think that becoming a 3d modeler may be what I want to do!

Now I have some concerns. I acknowledge the fact that this is an extremely competitive field, but there is more that I think is against us as artists.

How tough is it to find a job in the western world? I know a lot of companies outsource their artists and 3d modelers, so I am wondering if I even have a chance to become one or if its just too hard to pursue.

I am considering becoming a jack of all trades and learning animation, 2d art, and more 3d art so that I can get a job in many fields.

I dont want to be stuck becoming a plumber or doing some sort of office job that I won't enjoy for the rest of my life, I want to chase my dreams!

Thanks in advanced for replies!!!

Replies

• disanski
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    disanski polycounter lvl 14
    Hey there and welcome to polycount :).

We had a thread about same questions recently so take a look if you would like: http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=97919&highlight=worth
  • JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
    Jack of all trades.

Master of none.

Terrible career decision. ;/
  • Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    ninelives wrote: »
    I dont want to be stuck becoming a plumber or doing some sort of office job that I won't enjoy for the rest of my life, I want to chase my dreams!

You just answered your own question :)
  • Drav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Drav polycounter lvl 9