Home General Discussion

Time management and goals

Hey guys, I am still a student who is sort of trying to learn the ropes of becoming a 3d artist, and I was wondering if you guys work around a per-defined, daily schedule.

I try my best to either work with a 3d software package, do some digital art with my wacom tablet, or do some traditional arts every day, but I am often disorganized and I don't think that I am learning as efficiently as I could be.

Time management is just one of those things that I personally find hard to do consistently.

So, I was wondering what you guys do, whether you are still in school, you're un-employed, or if you're currently working for a company.

I was thinking of doing 1 hour chunks or something, but with small gaming breaks in between.

Thanks!

Replies

• Ruz
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    to me its about dedication, if you enjoy what you do , then the hours are not that important. why would you worry about time management unless you were working for a big company. just try enjoy your artwork before it becomes a chore.
    seems there are lots of threads these days about 'how should I do stuff or please encourage me'
    just do it man and see how things go from there

This is my early stuff all self taught looks shit. 15 years later I am doing ok
    http://www.rhino3d.com/gallery/images/rhinohead.jpg
  • FractaL
    THanks for the reply, Ruz.

I wasn't necessarily talking about motivation, I certainly have that, but I don't know how to balance between what to do! I spend several hours a day working and practicing, but for example, I sometimes feel like I should be doing 3d when im doing concept art, and vice versa.
  • Ruz
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666